Valley of Roses and the gardens of the Atlas Star

randonnée dans le haut atlas au maroc

The most beautiful landscapes of the High Atlas of Morocco…
2 nights in the riad Omar in Marrkach + 5 nights in lodge

At 150 km from Ouarzazate, the Dades region is the link between the High Atlas and the gateway to the desert. There, exists valley called « Valley of Roses », going back into the High Atlas. Canyons and narrow gorges give passageway to camels to find their summer pastures and lush gardens to the Atlas. With the porting done by mules, we will access these fantastic landscapes, considered the best in all of Morocco. Every year in May a festival is celebrated in Kelaat Mgouna to celebrate the flowering of the roses. Walking in these places is to discover the most beautiful landscapes Morocco has to offer, with  its kasbahs shining in the sun and amazing ‘Gardens of the Atlas‘ where palm, almond, and apricot trees compete for space on the terraces shaped by the hand of man. With no technical difficulties, you will explore this land where ancient indigenous people have established their Berber villages and perpetuate their traditions generation after generation.

Period : Early March to late December

Location : Valley of Roses and gardens of the Atlas (south side of High Atlas)

Duration :8 days including 4 walking

Level : Easy

Price per person :

 

  • 2 to 3 persons : 485 €
  • 4 to 6 persons : 380 €
  • 7 to 10 persons : 330 €
  • 11 to 14 persons : 270 €
  • 15 to 20 persons : 230 €

The price includes :

  • Full room throughout the journey upon arrival in Morocco
  • Transfer from the airport to the riad (round trip)
  • Transfer to and from Marrakech, by 4×4 or minibus
  • 2 nights in a riad in Marrakech on half-board (round trip)
  • 4 nights in tandem tents
  • 1 trek cook (hot meals and variety)
  • Mules for carrying luggage
  • 5 night holiday with half-board
  • Muleteers
  • Guide services for 8 days

The price does not include :

  • Repatriation insurance
  • Airline tickets
  • Entrance to history monuments
  • Drinks + personal gratuity to team

Program :

 

Day 1 :Reception at the airport of Marrakech by our team and then transport to riad Omar.

Transfer : 4×4 or minibus (15 minutes).

Accommodations at riad Omar.

 

Day 2 :Transport in superb fashion by vehicle through the Tichka Pass and descend into the valley of Ouarzazate. Many breaks will be taken on the pass to admire the scenery of the mountains and pre-desert/oases to Saghro- a gigantic palmary of fortified villages and kasbahs. Arrival at the exit of Kelaat Mgouna, overnight in a shelter at 1500m altitude. This is the meeting point with our mule team.

Transfer : 4×4 or minibus (5.5 to 6 hr route on paved road).

Accommodation : in lodging during your stay.

 

Day 3 :Along the Mgoun river, discover ancient kasbahs lined with hedges along the riverside where the famous rose blossoming fills the air with their fragrance every May… The attire of the women working the fields in this area are much different than in other valleys. Arrival at Ait Said late afternoon.

Hiking time : 5 – 5.5 hours.

Accommodation : lodge.

 

Day 4 :Here we are in the heart of the Valley of Roses and in the middle of the beautiful “Garden of the Atlas” which combines pomegranate, fig, peach trees, palm trees, and rose bushes in a spectacular sea of green.. A real treat for the eyes, a bonanza of colors and scents. Passage through the neck of Timstiguite then descend on the beautiful valley of Agouti. Night at a lodge or private house.

Hiking time : 5 hours.

Positive height difference : + 500 m.

Negative height difference : – 250 m.

Day 5 :Descend into the valley where ancient kasbahs add to the beautiful surroundings. Go through clay villages, matching the surrounding rock, perfectly hidden in the mountain faces. Exploration of the village El Host and arrive near Boutarard on a cliff overlooking the river. Mgoun river is below where women are busily working on the riverbanks and men are in the gardens attending to their work.

Hiking time : 4 hours.

Positive height difference : + 100 m.

Negative height difference : – 200 m.

Accommodation : in lodging.

 

Day 6 :Departure to the Dades Valley and experience the big change of scenery. See the whole section crossing the desert along a ridge that separates the two valleys, and descend into Boulmane Dades. Arrive late afternoon in the village of Ait Iyoul. Overnight in lodge here.

Hiking time : 4 – 4.5 hours

Positive height difference : + 200 m.

Negative height difference : – 300 m.

Accommodation : lodging.

 

Day 7 :Before making our way to Marrakech we will go back along the valley to visit Dades gorges among the apricot orchards, palm and pomegranate trees.. the green gardens sharply contrast with the surrounding tan rocks. We will then drive directly to Marrakech via Skoura, Ouarzazate, and Tichka.

Transfer : Minibus or 4×4.

Accommodations at Riad Omar right in the Djemaa el Fna square. (6 h drive)

Day 8 :Transfer to the airport according to departure time.

Safe Travels

Randonnée en étoile à la vallée des roses

randonnée dans le haut atlas au maroc

Les plus beaux paysages du Haut Atlas marocain…
2 nuits en hôtel à Marrakech + 5 nuits en gîte.

A 150 km de Ouarzazate, la région du Dades est le trait d’union entre le Haut Atlas et les portes du désert. Là, un vallon appelé « Vallée des Roses », remonte vers le Haut Atlas. Canyons, gorges étroites où les caravanes de chameaux remontent vers les pâturages durant l’été, donnent accès aux jardins luxuriants de l’Atlas… Grâce au portage effectué par les mules, nous accèderons à ces paysages fantastiques, considérés comme les plus beaux de tout le Maroc… Chaque année au mois de mai une fête est célébrée à Kelaat M’Gouna pour fêter la floraison des roses… Marcher dans ces contrées, c’est découvrir les plus beaux paysages que le Maroc puisse offrir ; avec ses kasbahs resplendissantes au soleil et ses magnifiques « jardins de l’Atlas » où palmiers, amandiers, abricotiers se disputent la place sur les terrasses façonnées par la main de l’homme. Sans difficultés techniques, vous explorerez cette contrée où les populations berbères ont installé leurs villages et perpétuent leurs traditions de générations en générations.

Période : début mars à fin decembre
Lieu : Vallée des Roses et jardins de l’Atlas( face sud du Haut-Atlas)
Durée :8 jours dont 4 de marche.
Niveau : facile

Tarifs par personne :

  • 04 à 06 personnes : 470 €
  • 07 à 10 personnes : 450 €
  • 11 à 14 personnes : 405 €
  • 15 à 20 personnes : 380 €

Le prix comprend :

  • Pension complète durant tout le séjour dès l’arrivée au Maroc
  • transferts de l’aéroport à l’hôtel (aller et retour)
  • Transfert aller et retour de Marrakech, en 4×4 ou minibus
  • 2 nuits en hôtel à Marrakech en demi-pension (aller et retour)
  • 4 nuitées sous tentes biplaces
  • 1 cuisinier de trek (repas chauds et très variés)
  • Des mulets pour le portage des affaires.
  • 5 nuits en gîte en demi-pension
  • Les services de guide 8 jours.

Le prix ne comprend pas :

  • Assurance rapatriement
  • Billets d’avion
  • Les entrés aux monuments  historiques
  • Les boissons  personnelles + les petits pourboires à l’équipe à la fin du séjour.
We cannot display this gallery

Programme :

Jour 1 : Accueil à l’aéroport de Marrakech par notre équipe puis transfert et installation à l’hôtel.
Transfert : 4 x 4 ou minibus (15 minutes).
Hébergement  en hôtel à Marrakech.

Jour 2 : Superbe transfert en véhicule par le col Tichka puis descente sur la vallée de Ouarzazate. De nombreux arrêts ponctueront la traversée pour admirer les paysages des montagnes pré-désertiques du Saghro et les oasis aux palmeraies gigantesques qui abritent les villages fortifiés et les kasbahs en pisé. Arrivée à la sortie de Kelaat Mgouna nuit dans un gîte à 1500m d’altitude, point de rencontre avec notre équipe muletière.
Transfert : 4 x 4 ou minibus (5h30 à 6 h de route goudronnée).
Hébergement : en gîte durant tout le séjour.

Jour 3 : Le long de la rivière du M’Goun, découverte des anciennes kasbahs qui longent le cours d’eau bordé de haies où fleurissent les célèbres roses qui embaument toute la vallée au mois de mai… Les costumes traditionnels des femmes qui s’affairent dans les jardins sont différents des autres vallées. Arrivée à Aït Saïd en fin d’après-midi.
Temps de marche : 5 heures à 5 h 30 mn.
Hébergement : en gîte d’etape.

Jour 4 : Nous sommes au cœur de la Vallée des Roses et au beau milieu des superbes « jardins de l’Atlas » où se côtoient grenadiers, figuiers, pêchers, palmiers et… roses. Un vrai régal pour les yeux, une féerie de couleurs et de parfums… Passage du col de Timstiguite puis descente sur le beau village d’Agouti. Nuit au gîte d’étape ou chez l’habitant.
Temps de marche : 5 heures.
Dénivelée positive : + 500 m.
Dénivelée négative : – 250 m.
Hébergement : en gîte

Jour 5 : Descente de la vallée où les kasbahs viennent s’ajouter à la beauté des paysages. Traversée des villages en terre battue de couleur ocre ; de même couleur que le rocher, les maisons se dissimulent remarquablement dans le paysage. Découverte du village d’El Hôte et arrivée non loin de Boutarard, sur la falaise qui domine la rivière M’Goun… en contrebas, le long des berges s’affairent les femmes et les hommes dans les jardins. Nuit au gîte.
Temps de marche : 4 heures.
Dénivelée positive : + 100 m.
Dénivelée négative : – 200 m.
Hébergement : en gîte.

Jour 6 : Départ en direction de la Vallée du Dadès. Changement de paysage… traversée de toute une partie désertique le long d’une crête qui sépare les deux vallées, puis descente sur Boulmane Dadès. Arrivée en fin d’après-midi sur le village d’Aït Iyoul, nuit au gîte.
Temps de marche : 4 heures à 4 h 30mn
Dénivelée positive : + 200 m.
Dénivelée négative : – 300 m.
Hébergement : en gîte.

Jour 7 : Avant de prendre notre route  vers Marrakech nous remontons tout le long la vallée pour visiter les magnifiques gorges du Dadès parmi les vergers d’abricotiers, de palmiers et de grenadiers… les tâches vertes des jardins contrastent violemment avec la couleur ocre des rochers alentours puis nous continuerons notre transfert direct sur Marrakech via la palmeraie de Skoura, Ourzazate, col de Tichka.
Transfert : Minibus ou 4×4.
Hébergement en hôtel à Marrakech (6 h de route).

Jour 8 : Transfert à l’aéroport selon l’horaire de départ d’avion.

Bon voyage

We cannot display this gallery